Listen Up: It’s OK Not to Have Your Sh*t Together.

Alright, guys…. It’s time for a pep talk. For me, this summer so far has been weird. I changed my major this past year and just got accepted into the program I applied to (Journalism, if you were wondering). I don’t have a fancy 8-5 job or research position like most of my friends this summer. I’m also not traveling or doing anything super glamourous. I’m doing a hodge-podge of VERY part-time jobs this summer, like working as a restaurant hostess two nights a week and helping run the social media at a fitness studio. Despite that, I constantly feel like I have way too much time on my hands and have been feeling incredibly behind in life lately. My roommates, being pre-med/nursing students, are both doing incredible research on campus and staying busy with important things like volunteering at hospitals and taking difficult science classes. My boyfriend has an über cool full-time job with the Wisconsin Senate. All in all, I don’t feel like I’m doing enough. Actually, I don’t know what I’m doing. I’m always either bored or confused. I’m not sure what my career goals will exactly be until I dive into this new major, or really what any of my plans are. I feel like I’m not doing enough. I don’t have my shit together.

However, after a LOT of freaking out and over-analyzing everything, I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s really OK to not have everything put together and planned out to a T (which I’ve always tried to do my entire life). No one is on the same page, and everyone is working towards their own progress in life. Your life isn’t the same as anyone else’s… You have your own interests, your own thoughts, your own skills. You need to put trust in yourself and be patient- something that I, personally, really need to work much harder at.

Thus, the cliché saying, “everything happens for a reason,” is the name of the game here. I need to keep reminding myself of that, and you should, too. Don’t be in a rush to catch up to the person next to you, or force yourself into doing something you aren’t actually that interested in. Do you. Tinker with things. Experiment. Embrace change. Go with your gut. Ultimately, be OK with the messes life brings you. Something good is sure to come out of it.

 

Leave a Reply

